Foreign community at Chinese World of Warcraft
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Foreign community at Chinese World of Warcraft

For those who want to play World of Warcraft cheaper on the Chinese realms (in Chinese, English or other languages)

PortalPortal  HomeHome  GlossaryGlossary  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
WARLORDS OF DREANOR - RELEASE ON 13.11.2014

FOR THOSE HAVING CONNECTIVITY PROBLEMS CHECK HERE!

Share | 

Your cultural background and WoW!

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Dayman 
CritterCritter

Character in WOW
Server: Tichondrius
Name: Daymän
Guild:

Your cultural background and WoW!  _
  Your cultural background and WoW!  I_icon_minitimeSun 29 Aug 2010 - 2:11  #
Hi, my name is Caroline and I'm an undergraduate student working on a research project concerning the localization of MMOs. I have a few questions I'd love for any role-players or players of localized versions of the game to answer. Although some of these questions are geared toward role-players, I am interested in any type of player's response! Most of the questions focus on role-playing, but the crux of my project concerns cultural variations in localized versions of the game and how international players respond to that (both in terms of RP and non RP). Any anecdotes or anything else you care to share would be much appreciated.

• Does your cultural background have an influence on your role-playing? By cultural background, I mean family background, ethnic background, traditional culture (religion), or popular culture. I believe that role-players make a conscious decision about what aspects of their culture they choose to draw influence from. Please elaborate on any aspects of your culture that you have made a conscious decision to draw influence from.